Indianapolis Indians Roster Set

The Indianapolis Indians roster has been uploaded, completing the full season leagues.  Here is a look:

Expected Starters

C – Erik Kratz
1B – Steve Pearce
2B – Brian Friday
SS – Argenis Diaz
3B – Pedro Alvarez
OF – Brandon Jones
OF – Brandon Moss
OF – Jose Tabata


C – Luke Carlin
1B/OF – Brian Myrow
IF – Doug Bernier
OF – Jonathan Van Every
UTIL – Neil Walker

Starting Rotation (Announced by Scott McCauley)

SP – Kevin Hart
SP – Brad Lincoln
SP – Donald Veal
SP – Chris Jakubauskas
SP – Brian Burres


RP – Anthony Claggett
RP – Brian Bass
RP – Jean Machi
RP – Jeff Karstens
RP – Jeremy Powell
RP – Steven Jackson
RP – Vinnie Chulk

I’m assuming that Craig HansenJimmy BarthmaierNeal CottsTyler Yates, and Wilfredo Ledezma are also on the team, but injured, as each player entered Spring Training with an existing injury.

No word on Jason CooperJustin Thomas, or Kevin Melillo.  They weren’t listed on the rosters, and it hasn’t been reported that they’ve been released.  It would seem strange that Thomas would be released.  The Pirates claimed him after the 2009 season, then snuck him through waivers when the 40-man rosters were being set in November.  I’m guessing Thomas is injured.

Tim Williams

Author: Tim Williams

Tim is the owner and editor in chief of Pirates Prospects. He started the site in January 2009, and turned it into his full time job during the 2011 season. Prior to starting Pirates Prospects, Tim worked with, providing MLB, NHL, and NFL coverage to various national media outlets, including ESPN Insider, USA Today, Yahoo Sports, and the Wall Street Journal. He also writes the annual Prospect Guide, which is sold through the site. Tim lives in Bradenton, where he provides live coverage all year of Spring Training, mini camp, instructs, the Bradenton Marauders, and the GCL Pirates.

Share This Post On