VSL Pirates Win the VSL Championship In 21-2 Victory

The Venezuelan Summer League championship came down to one game today, as the VSL Pirates and the VSL Mariners entered today’s game tied at one game a piece in a best of three series.  The Pirates came away victorious with a 21-2 victory, thanks to runs scored in each of the first seven innings, including a ten run third inning.

The Pirates got a strong start from Roberto Espinoza, who allowed runs in each of the first two innings, then settled down to pitch six innings, allowing just those two runs on four hits, with two walks and three strikeouts.  Espinoza was expected to be the staff ace for the VSL Pirates this year, following a 2009 season which saw him put up a 2.74 ERA in 62.1 innings, with a 48:22 K/BB ratio and a .188 BAA.  Espinoza wasn’t as sharp in his second season in the VSL, but came through tonight.

Jesus Barraza and Raul Ruiz combined for three perfect innings, with Barraza recording two of those innings.  Barraza, in his second year in the VSL, pitched 33.1 innings in the regular season, with an 0.54 ERA, and a 15:5 K/BB ratio.  The left handed Ruiz is in his third year in the VSL, and had a 1.63 ERA in 27.2 innings this year, with a 15:4 K/BB ratio.

The offense of course was on fire today.  Luis Cardona went 4-for-6 from the leadoff spot, with a double, a triple, and four RBIs.  Francisco Aponte went 3-for-5 with four runs, two RBIs, and a stolen base.  Aponte stole 28 bases in 63 games during the 2010 season, and was only caught stealing five times.  David Pino went 3-for-6 with a run and three RBIs.

Three first year players for the VSL Pirates came up big tonight.  Jose Ozuna went 4-for-6 with a double, two runs, and three RBIs.  Ozuna led the VSL this year with ten homers.  Jose Ortiz went 2-for-4 with a double, a homer, two walks, three runs, and three RBIs.  Ulises Montilla went 2-for-5 with three runs, a walk, and two RBIs.

The championship was the second for the VSL Pirates in the last three seasons, and the team has advanced to the championship five years in a row.  The last championship also came against the VSL Mariners in 2008.

Enjoy this story? Pirates Prospects will be switching to a subscription site on 4/13, so that we can continue bringing you the best Pirates coverage there is. For a very small monthly price, you can continue getting articles like this, along with coverage from every minor league city. Get more information here, and subscribe today!

Share This Article

Tim Williams

Tim is the owner and editor in chief of Pirates Prospects. He started the site in January 2009, and turned it into his full time job during the 2011 season. Prior to starting Pirates Prospects, Tim worked with, providing MLB, NHL, and NFL coverage to various national media outlets, including ESPN Insider, USA Today, Yahoo Sports, and the Wall Street Journal. He also writes the annual Prospect Guide, which is sold through the site. Tim lives in Bradenton, where he provides live coverage all year of Spring Training, mini camp, instructs, the Bradenton Marauders, and the GCL Pirates.

Indians Knock Out Norfolk 7-4

Next Story »

VSL Season Wrap-up Part One: The Position Players

Latest Analysis

  • Josh Bell made the move to first base over the off-season. (Photo credit: David Hague)

    Why Should You Care About Prospects?

    10 hours ago

    Yesterday I had a shorter day than usual. The Pirates had cuts at the MLB level, and a road game. The day was shortened at Pirate City, ...

    Read More
  • Gregory Polanco

    Q&A: Trading Prospects For Rentals, Polanco Concerns, Meadows vs Appel

    1 day ago

    I missed the Q&A last week due to a common problem in Spring Training: I forgot what day it was. It was around 6:00 that I was ...

    Read More
  • Nick Kingham f

    Improving His Two-Seam Fastball will Make Nick Kingham a More Effective Pitcher

    2 days ago

    With Jameson Taillon returning from Tommy John surgery, and unlikely to make an impact at the Major League level early in the year, the top prospect to ...

    Read More
  • Arquimedes Caminero 3

    The Roster Situations That Could Impact the Makeup of the Pirates Bullpen

    4 days ago

    There are less than two weeks remaining in Spring Training, and the one area where the Pittsburgh Pirates had actual position battles is heating up. There were ...

    Read More
  • Jordan Luplow

    How the Pirates are Trying to Stay Ahead of the Curve With the New Draft Rules

    5 days ago

    The 2011 Collective Bargaining Agreement brought a lot of changes to Major League Baseball. The biggest change for the Pittsburgh Pirates came in the draft. From 2008-2011, ...

    Read More
  • Alen Hanson

    The Key For Alen Hanson to Help the Pirates in the Majors This Year

    6 days ago

    When the Pittsburgh Pirates moved Alen Hanson to second base last year, part of the plan was to get him to the majors faster by putting him at ...

    Read More
  • Tyler Glasnow 2

    What the Stats Don’t Tell You About Tyler Glasnow

    1 week ago

    The stat line for Tyler Glasnow’s start at Pirate City yesterday looked great: 3 IP, 0 H, 1 R, 1 ER, 1 BB, 1 K. The lone run ...

    Read More
  • JaCoby Jones Josh Bell

    JaCoby Jones Did Fine in the Move to Shortstop, But Needs to Cut Down on Strikeouts

    1 week ago

    The Pittsburgh Pirates drafted JaCoby Jones as an outfielder in the third round of the 2013 draft, then surprised everyone the following year when they moved him ...

    Read More
  • Cody Dickson is a lefty with the upside of a middle of the rotation starter. (Photo Credit: Mark Olson)

    The Mental Adjustment that Led to Cody Dickson’s Dominant 2014 Second Half

    1 week ago

    Trusting his stuff and not trying to do too much — that has been the key for left-handed pitcher Cody Dickson so far in his professional baseball ...

    Read More
  • Third Base Mathisen Luplow Joe

    Who’s on Third? In the Pirates’ Farm System, It Could Be Anyone

    2 weeks ago

    If you have ever played third base in your life — professional, college, high school, slow pitch softball — then the Pittsburgh Pirates might be contacting you ...

    Read More
  • Browse More Articles