After a series of roster moves on Wednesday afternoon, prior to the club's workout at PNC Park, the Pirates bench has become clear.

The Pirates have decided to carry an extra bat to start the season, rather than an extra arm in the pen. Matt Hague, Josh Harrison and Yamaico Navarro all made the club on the bench.

Last seasons bench consisted of players such as Matt Diaz, Jason Jaramillo, Xavier Paul and Brandon Wood. The Pirates 2012 bench appears to be much stronger, proving a good mix of young players, veterans, versatility, and some pop in the bats.

Bench: Matt Hague, Josh Harrison, Casey McGehee, Michael McKenry, Nate McLouth, Yamaico Navarro.

Only Harrison and McKenry return to the club from 2011. The rest of the bench is made up of: Hague, who has shown some power this sp...

To continue reading the rest of this article, subscribe to Pirates Prospects. Subscribers get access to every article on the site, along with all of our exclusive live coverage of the Pirates' minor league system, all for a very low monthly or yearly rate.

If you're already a member, you can log in below. If you think you're receiving this message in error, please e-mail