Players Eligible for the Upcoming Rule 5 Draft

We will have plenty of coverage coming up for the Rule 5 draft in early December. That will start with a look at the possible September call-ups next week. We will also have a preview before the Pirates have to set their 40-man roster in advance of the Rule 5 draft, followed by a Rule 5 preview the day before the draft takes place. For now though, here’s the current list of players who will be eligible this winter for the Rule 5 draft. This list below doesn’t include any of the upcoming minor league free agents, which we covered here. If any of them re-sign before the Rule 5 draft, then they will be eligible to be picked.

Eligible in Previous Years

Saul de la Cruz

Yerry De Los Santos

Nicholas Economos

Elys Escobar

Yeudy Garcia

Raul Hernandez

Logan Hill

Gage Hinsz

Christian Kelley

Sean Keselica

Tom Koehler

James Marvel

Cristofer Melendez

Winston Nicacio

Cody Ponce

Domingo Robles

Raul Siri

Jerrick Suiter

Mitchell Tolman

Nik Turley

Adrian Valerio

Brandon Waddell

The players who will be eligible for the first time this winter make up a fairly small list for two reasons. It includes college players drafted in 2016, high school players drafted in 2015 and most of the international signings from the 2015-16 signing period. The Pirates only signed two high school draft picks in 2015, Ke’Bryan Hayes and Ike Schlabach. The 2015-16 international group was only 19 players, partially due to the small bonus pool that year, but also because the Pirates spent nearly all of their money on the first day handing out six-figure bonuses. They only had one team back then and didn’t need to sign any fillers, so now you end up with what is left from that small class.

When I say “most of the international signings”, it excludes players who were 18 or younger and signed after the 2015 DSL season ended. That eliminated Rodolfo Castro and Oliver Garcia from being eligible this year, but Samuel Reyes is eligible from the 2016-17 class because he was already 20 years old when he signed on July 2, 2016.

First Time Eligible Players

Stephen Alemais

Blake Cederlind

Joel Cesar

Will Craig

Oneil Cruz

Matt Eckelman

Ke’Bryan Hayes

Samuel Inoa

Oddy Nunez

Hunter Owen

Arden Pabst

Samuel Reyes

Lolo Sanchez

Ike Schlabach

Pedro Vasquez

Cam Vieaux