The Pittsburgh Pirates announced 11 more non-roster invites to Spring Training on Monday afternoon. Unlike the previous names, which were all minor league free agents, these are all players who were already in the system.

The list includes right-handed pitchers Luis Escobar, James Marvel, Nick Mears, Montana DuRapau and Tom Koehler. Left-handers Blake Weiman, Williams Jerez and Nik Turley. Catchers Jason Delay and Christian Kelley. Outfielder Jared Oliva.

Escobar, Marvel, DuRapau and Jerez are all players who were dropped from the 40-man roster and cleared waivers since the end of the season. Turley and Koehler spent the entire 2019 season rehabbing from injuries. Only Mears and Oliva are reporting to MLB Spring Training for the first time among the rest.

Escobar, Marvel, Mears, Weiman and Oliva are all top 50 prospects in the system.

It’s interesting to note the Pablo Reyes isn’t on the NRI list after clearing waivers a few days ago, though that doesn’t mean he won’t be invited.

The previously invited players includes John Ryan Murphy, Socrates Brito, Phillip Evans, Jake Elmore, Hector Noesi and Miguel Del Pozo.

Here are the player pages for each player:












IMPORTANT: You will need to update your password after the switch to the new server in order to log in and comment. Go to the Password Reset Page to change your password.